U.S. Athletes Excel at World Championships!
  1. First-Time & Student Skydivers
  2. Experienced Skydivers
  3. Rating Holders and S&TAs
  4. Drop Zone Management
  5. About USPA
Monday, June 17, 2024
U.S. Athletes Excel at World Championships!

U.S. Athletes Excel at World Championships!

Homepage USPA
Friday, October 28, 2022

Photo above by Mike McGowan.

On Wednesday, October 26, after weeks of fierce but friendly competition between skydivers from Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Great Britain, Guatemala, Italy, Lithuania, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Paraguay, Poland, Qatar, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and the USA, the 2022 Fédération Aéronautique Internationale World Skydiving Championships at Skydive Arizona in Eloy came to a close. International Skydiving Commission President Gillian Rayner said, "It was fantastic to see so many flags tonight and hear so many national anthems," after watching the victorious teams stand proud representing their countries. The “Star Spangled Banner” rang out plenty of times, as the U.S. Team had strong performances across every discipline. 

The following U.S. athletes came home with the title of World Champion: 

Canopy Piloting Freestyle National Team: Curt Bartholomew, Travis Mills, Justin Price 

Canopy Piloting Speed: Jason Sanders  

Canopy Piloting Zone Accuracy: Jason Sanders 

Wingsuit Performance Overall: Chris Geiler 

Wingsuit Performance, Time: Alexey Galda 

Wingsuit Performance National Team: Alexey Galda, Chris Geiler, Joe Ridler 

Artistic Freestyle (Raija Kosonen Trophy): XP Ascend—Jason Brigmon and Jake Carlton  

Speed National Team: Niklas Daniel, T.J. Landgren, Kyle Lobpries   

Vertical Formation Skydiving (Fiona McEachern Trophy): SDC Core—Johnny Gunn, Dustin Hanks, Sam Lendle, Rook Nelson, Jason Russell, Stephanie Strange 

8-Way Formation Skydiving (Ottley Sword, 8-Way): XP8— Jeana Billings, Elliot Byrd, John D’Annunzio, Tim D’Annunzio, Matt Davidson, Craig Girard, Andrew Happick, Michelle Karamon, Brian Krause, Eliana Rodriguez, Kirk Verner 

4-Way Formation Skydiving (Ottley Sword, 4-Way): Arizona Airspeed— Brendan Haddon, Niklas Hemlin, Christopher Kuhlmann, Mikhail Markine, Joseph Marshall, Kirk Verner 

Full scoreboards are available at results.worldskydiving.org, and an in-depth article will appear in the December issue of Parachutist.

For more information about the U.S. Parachute Team or to support your favorite athletes, visit usparachuteteam.org.

Photo by Javier Ortiz.

Categories: Event News, Competition, Homepage USPA   |   Rate this article:
  |  Number of views: 6315   |  Comments: 0
Please login or register to post comments.

USPA      5401 Southpoint Centre Blvd., Fredericksburg, VA, 22407     (540) 604-9740    M-F 9am-5pm Eastern    (540) 604-9741     uspa@uspa.org

Terms Of UsePrivacy StatementCopyright 2024 by United States Parachute Association
Your Source for all things Skydiving in the U.S.
Back To Top