Canopy Piloting Champions Crowned!



The canopy piloting portion of the USPA National Parachuting Championships completed Sunday, June 21, at Skydive Paraclete XP in Raeford, North Carolina, with Curt Bartholomew reclaiming his overall national champion title.

After three days of jumps and all rounds completing, Bartholomew took the overall gold, as well as gold in zone accuracy, silver in distance and bronze in speed. Last year’s national champion, Tom Dellibac, claimed the overall silver medal, as well as gold in the speed event. Nick Batsch placed third overall and earned gold in the distance event.

In the advanced class, the overall gold went to Matt Leonard, silver to Pawel Piotrowski and bronze to Scott Kasmar. Leonard took gold in zone accuracy, Piotrowski won the speed event, and Ben Lowe earned gold in distance.

The open-class results also determined the U.S. Team that will go to the Canopy Piloting World Cup in Canada this August. This year’s U.S. Team includes the top-12 fnishers: Bartholomew, Dellibac, Batsch, Greg Windmiller, Justin Price, Paul Rodriguez, Albert Berchtold, Rob Wallace, Ian Bobo, Matt Shull, Ryan Brownlow and Gage Galle.

Complete canopy piloting results are available on Control Tower. And don’t forget to check out the action in the daily broadcasts on Skydive-TV!

Skydive Paraclete XP ran a successful Nationals that went smoothly, even with record-high temperatures throughout the week. Look for a complete report in the August issue of Parachutist.