USPA Nationals Crowns MFS and VFS Champs!


With near-perfect weather, the first three days of competition at the USPA National Skydiving Championships at Skydive Arizona in Eloy have run flawlessly, starting with the speed test event on 21 October, which Kyle Lobpries won with an average speed of 272 mph. Joe Carder took second and Garry Barron was third. The event is already recognized by FAI; now USPA will decide if it wants to follow suit for 2016.

Mixed formation and vertical formation skydiving competition began on Thursday, 22 October with 13 teams in advanced and three in open. After six rounds, Flite Shop (Andy Malchiodi, Jason Peters and camera flyer Friday Friedman) had a commanding win for the gold in open. In advanced, Eagle Bear (brothers Andre and Joseph Gerner and camera flyer Nathan Roth) solidly won the advanced class.

With MFS complete, vertical formation skydiving started Friday afternoon with six open and four advanced teams. The final round completed Saturday afternoon, with SDC Core becoming the new national champion, as well as the U.S. Team that will compete at next year’s world championships. Team members are Dusty Hanks, Ryan Risberg, Jason Russell, Stephanie Strange and camera flyer Jake Jensen. In advanced the gold went to Frosty Mongoose Time, with Brian Ball, Nate Goodhard, Zane Jaafar, Natalie Pitts and camera flyer Matt Fry.

Next up is the formation skydiving event, which kicks off Monday morning with the 4-way competition. Complete scores are available on Be sure to follow all the action on Skydive-TV, broadcasting daily from Skydive Arizona.

news-1026-1.jpg  news-1026-2.jpg  news-1026-3.jpg