Champions Named at Canopy Piloting Nationals

Curt Bartholomew has retained his title of national champion at the 2016 USPA National Championships of Canopy Piloting, which completed Friday, April 8, at Skydive City Zephyrhills in Florida. Bartholomew, last year’s champion, placed first in zone accuracy, third in speed and sixth in distance to win the overall gold. Tommy Dellibac won gold in speed and distance to place second overall, and Ian Bobo took the overall bronze.

In the advanced class, Johnny Gunn won the overall gold, as well as gold in the speed event. Marcus Denniston won gold in zone accuracy, and Ben Crooch took gold in distance.

After battling winds for three days, the meet ended Friday evening with all rounds complete except the final round of distance. Skydive City again proved an excellent host. Meet Controller James Hayhurst, Meet Director Buzz Bennett and Chief Judge Lee Schlichtemeier led a staff of 16 judges and volunteers to run the meet.

The championships also determined the eight slots on the U.S. Team that will compete at the 2016 World Championships this August in Farnham, Canada. The U.S. Team members are Bartholomew, Dellibac, Bobo, Greg Windmiller, Matt Shull, Gage Galle, Mikeal Stevens, Albert Berchtold and alternate Joe Abeln.

Complete results are available on Control Tower, and daily broadcasts from the competition are at Skydive-TV.